Bruno Lafont


French national born in 1956, Bruno Lafont is Co-Chairman of the Board of Directors of LafargeHolcim Ltd. He was elected to the Board of Directors of LafargeHolcim Ltd in 2015. He is a graduate of the Hautes Études Commerciales Business School (HEC Paris) and École Nationale d’Administration (ENA Paris).

He was elected to the Board of Lafarge S.A. in 2005, became Chief Executive Officer in 2006, and served as Chairman of the Board of Directors and Chief Executive Officer of Lafarge S.A. from 2007 to 2015 and is therefore considered non-independent according to the definition of the Swiss Code of Best Practice for Corporate Governance. Bruno Lafont is Honorary Chairman of Lafarge S.A.

He joined Lafarge in 1983 and subsequently held various positions in finance and international operations. In 1995, he was appointed Group Executive Vice President, Finance; in 1998, President of the Gypsum Division; and in 2003, Chief Operating Officer. Bruno Lafont is a director of EDF, France, and ArcelorMittal, Luxemburg.

He is a Member of the Executive Committee of the World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD), where he co-chairs the Energy Efficiency in Buildings project. He also chairs the Energy and Climate Change working group of the European Round Table of Industrialists (ERT) and the Sustainable Development Commission of MEDEF (French Business Confederation) and is a Board Member of AFEP (French Large Companies Association). He is special adviser to the mayor of Chongqing, China.