The 5th International LafargeHolcim Awards competition for sustainable construction now open

1 July 2016

The International LafargeHolcim Awards competition is the most significant of its kind, providing recognition and financial support to architectural projects that advance environmental, social, and economic sustainability. Starting today and until March 21, 2017, the 5th edition invites architects, planners, engineers, project owners, builders, construction firms, both experienced and students, to enter their new and innovative project ideas.


Buildings can and should contribute to the sustainable future of our planet. Every three years, the LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction holds a one-of-a-kind competition to recognize some of the world’s most promising solutions for cities and the built environment. Now in its fifth edition, the International LafargeHolcim Awards have helped implement projects from around the world, including river remediation in Morocco, a secondary school in Burkina Faso, and a public park in Colombia.

A total of USD 2 million will be awarded to the winning projects in 2017-2018. Urban or rural, functional or recreational, large-scale or small-scale, entries will be evaluated on their potential contributions to sustainable development throughout the entire project lifecycle. Winning projects must also demonstrate architectural excellence and the potential to improve quality of life in the region in which they are to be built.

The LafargeHolcim Foundation’s framework for evaluating sustainable construction


Promoting sustainable construction today and for the future

The competition’s Main category is open to architects, planners, engineers, students of related disciplines, project owners, builders and construction firms with sustainable responses to technological, environmental, socioeconomic and cultural issues in contemporary building and construction. Projects must have reached an advanced stage of design, have a high probability of execution, and have not started construction before July 4, 2016.

The Next Generation category specifically seeks out “blue-sky” solutions from students and young professionals. Participants of up to 30 years of age can enter their bold, visionary concepts to the competition, irrespective of the probability of the project’s implementation.


A 2-step selection process: regional first, global second

Projects in the Main and Next Generation categories will first be evaluated in their respective geographic regions by a jury of renowned specialists. The winners will be announced at five consecutive Awards ceremonies in the second half of 2017 and automatically qualify for the global awards competition in 2018.

The call for entries is open until March 21, 2017. All entries are free and can be submitted online.

Go to the
Awards entry form 2016/17 to start the entry process and download the step-by-step guide for instructions on completing the form.


About the LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction

The LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction (formerly known as the Holcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction) was created in 2003 to raise awareness of the important role that architecture, engineering, urban planning and construction have in achieving a more sustainable future. The LafargeHolcim Foundation achieves this through its international Awards competitions, academic Forums and publications.

Read more